PhD Student Profile: Aaron Reynolds

Name: Aaron Reynoldsaaron-reynolds

Current Position: University of Utah Honors College Academic Advisor

Hometown: Aurora, UT

Undergrad Institution & Major: Brigham Young University, Political Science

Graduate Institution & Degree: Columbia University, Higher & Postsecondary Education

Favorite Food: Korean Dak Calbi

Why did you choose the ELP program at the U? I came to Salt Lake initially to be closer to family and for a position at the U. Shortly after coming back to Utah I decided that the ELP program is a good fit for my interests in higher education – I’m happy with my decision because the department is welcoming and has a lot of people doing great work.

What do you love about Salt Lake City? Mountains, cycling trails, sporting events, restaurants

What are your dreams for your future? At times I’m back and forth on this question. If you had asked me this question ten years ago I would have said to become a community college president, but recently my interests have been moving more in the direction of becoming a faculty member.

What is a skill you hope to develop? Strong quantitative skills & ethical leadership.

What is something unique about you that you would like us to know? I grew up in a town of 1,000 people in southern Utah but have also lived in cities of more than 10 million (New York & Seoul). Political conspiracy movies/TV shows are my favorite, i.e. Enemy of the State & House of Cards.

Where would you go on a dream vacation if money/time did not enter into your thought process? Southern England (Cornwall). I would spend time in a small fishing village called Porthleven then go north and spend time in Oxford/London. Taking time to cycle through the English countryside and eat fish & chips.

Do you have any family, friends, or pets that are important to you here with you in Salt Lake? My younger brother & sister also live in the Salt Lake area. I have two nephews (4, 2) who are also a lot of fun.

What is your favorite place to study/work? My office

Leave a Reply

